When God Says Be Still

When the LORD says BE STILL,

What? Did I hear correctly? I need only to be still?

The other day my emotions were kind of worked up, actually feeling very bad because of a trial I was facing. As I went to church that Sunday I expected God to say and do something about my situation. I expected Him to say, my child, stand up and say this, go there and do that. You know when stuff goes so bad that you actually wish He can just descend down in your living room. But NO, God whispered words that I did not want to hear let alone obey. He just said, Be STILL. LOOORD… I wanted to scream, have you seen what is happening right now in my life? Can you see what I am going through? Surely, as God you must know that, there must be something tangible that needs to be done here. You cannot just say I must be still. There are mountains that need to be moved here and people that must be punished…God can you hear me?

Well, friends, I learned the hard way one of the tactics of God. I learned that God does not run to our rescue and punish our enemies just because we feel angry. He avoids basing His answers on our emotions. Period. Therefore when I come to Him all worked up and emotionally unstable, His initial step will be to calm me down, ask me to silence negative emotions and enable positive emotions to operate. This is exactly what He did that morning, I wanted Him to turn left and He turned right.

I do not know what Egyptians you are facing this morning. I do not know which season you are currently in. But what I do know is that God is in control. If you can read Exo. 14:4 you will see that God actually made Pharaoh to be stubborn so that He can gain Glory as He buries him under the red sea. Our lives were designed to bring glory to God with good things as well as bad things. So do not push your Pharaohs away; let them come because the red sea is ready for them.

There will always be a red sea for every winter season of your life, therefore be still and know that He is God. The Egyptians you see today, you will see no more.

Prayer

Lord we thank you to know that, our strength is not necessary in all that we are going through. But relying on you is necessary, so that you can gain glory as you swallow our enemies. Take all the glory this morning in Jesus Name. Amen

Scripture reference

Exodus 14:13-14

Moses answered the people, Do not be afraid. Stand firm and you will see the deliverance the LORD will bring you today. The Egyptians you see today you will never see again. The LORD will fight for you; you need only to be still.

Till next time

Ondiswa.

Leave a Reply

